Summer 2017 Updates

by aandrewwangg

I graduated back in May with my MA in Art History and my MLS. By the middle of the semester I thought I was stumbling through the finish line, but all of the work I did earlier in my program ended up really paying off in the end. I’ll be starting my position as the 2017-2018 Kress Fellow at Yale in a month and I could not be more excited. Not to downplay my own efforts, but everything seems to be slowly falling into place.

At the risk of sounding selfish, I’m leaving Indiana University at the “right time.” The Fine Arts Library has officially closed (IU likes to say that it’s “moving,” but the windowless new space on the 9th floor of the main library is not the same).  The Eskenazi Museum of Art has temporarily closed for renovations (due to reopen in a few years). It all feels so… conclusive? I’m so fortunate to have had the opportunity to work so closely with the collections and staff in both the library and the museum for the entire duration of my program.

I’ll be attending a Rare Book School course next week at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville to help establish a historical context for my interest in contemporary zines. Otherwise I’m taking time to decompress and take advantage of life without constant coursework. I plan on diving right back into career development after my move to New Haven. I’m hoping to adapt my master’s essay, “The Spatial Politics of Ephemerality: Queer(core) Cruising in J.D.s,” for publication by the end of 2018. In the more immediate future, I’m working on creating a list of the “Most Notable Graphic Novels Published in 2016,” to be informally published by the ARLIS/NA Graphic Novels Special Interest Group. Hopefully this will become an annual tradition that will assist (art) librarians in starting/developing their own graphic novel/comic collections. I’d also love to attend this year’s Zine Librarians (un)Conference in Long Beach if I have the time/funds. I had the opportunity to serve on the POC Travel Grant committee this year so I’d especially like to meet our grant recipients!

I am so fortunate to have found a career that I love so much, and I have my numerous mentors to thank for that. I’ve had so many amazing opportunities because of them. I hope that I can serve that role in some capacity for MLS students in the future. Super excited to start this next chapter of my life ~

